Spaghetti Meatballs

meatball pasta

meatball pasta 2

Original plan was to buy some mince and make a bolognese pasta. Then I saw these lovely Italian meatballs. I immediately changed my mind and wanted to make something different this weekend. Believe or not, this is my first time making a meatball pasta. This recipe is from my cookbook The Family Kitchen Italian. I have to say I love the sauce. It is packed with lots of flavour. Of course the original recipe included ingredients to make meatballs from scratch. Given I have bought some ready to go ones, I will only share exactly how I made this pasta.

Ingredients: (serves 5-6)

Spaghetti (500 g), Italian meatballs (500 g), brown onion (1, diced), Italian whole tomato (2 cans), basil (half bunch), garlic (2 cloves, minced), fresh red chilli (half, finely chopped), caramelised balsamic vinegar (2 tablespoons), olive oil, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper.

What to do:

  1. Place a large pot of salted water onto boil. Add pasta and cook until al dente.
  2. While pasta is cooking, into a frying pan heat generous amount of olive oil over medium heat, brown all the meatballs, set aside.
  3. In another frying pan, heat 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium heat. Add chopped brown onion, garlic and chilli, and fry until fragrant. Then add canned tomato, basil, caramelised balsamic vinegar and the meatball, let the sauce simmer until the meat balls are cooked. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Serve with spaghetti and grated parmesan.
7 thoughts on “Spaghetti Meatballs

  1. This is a favorite “Italian” meal that is always appreciated by everyone no matter what your age. I like to make the meatballs and freeze them, as well as some sauce separately. Then I always have something yummy to feed my guests. Thanks for coming to the party and sharing with all of us at Fiesta Friday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

