Roast Turkey

roast turkey

For the first time, I have decided to roast a whole turkey. There are only two of us in the house, so I decided to pick the smallest bird on the supermarket shelf. Once I opened up the package, I believe it was only a half turkey. There are no wings! The presentation of my final product was very awkward because of this. I had to use some of the potatoes to help it stand properly while I was taking the photos.

Despite all that, I am pleased that the turkey turned out to be juicy, probably because I have had a lot of fat in my marinade. I didn’t do a stuffing. Instead I simply mixed everything together and rubbed it all over the turkey. It looks bit strange as you can see I have cranberries everywhere. We both were happy with the flavour though.

Ingredients:

Turkey (2.3 kg), baby potatoes

marinade: unsalted butter (72 g), dried cranberry (35 g), fresh thyme ( about 10 sprigs), garlic (3 clove), fresh chives (half bunch), fresh rosemary (4 sprigs), chilli flakes (1 teaspoon), cracked black pepper (1 teaspoon), sea salt (3 teaspoon), lemon infused olive oil (2 tablespoon)

What to do:

  1. Roughly chop all the herbs, and mix all the ingredients for the marinade in a bowl.
  2. Using fingers, gently loosen skin from breast meat and push marinade under skin. Rub the rest of the marinade all over the turkey.
  3. Wrap the whole thing with foil and leave it in the fridge overnight.
  4. The next day, preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  5. Roast the turkey (wrapped in foil) and baby potatoes for 1 hour and 20 minutes.
  6. Unwrap the foil and roast for another 1 hour, or until juices run clear when a skewer is inserted in the thickest part of the turkey.
  7. Rest the turkey for 10 minutes before serving.
  8. In the mean time, drain the cooking juice from the baking pan. In a small sauce pan, fry some chopped onion and mushrooms. Then add the turkey juicy and thicken up with some flour.  (note: suspend the flour in some water and then pour it into the sauce pan, you know the usual way to make a gravy ).
  9. Carve the turkey and serve with gravy or cranberry sauce.

Note: Generally it is 40 minutes per kilo of meat at 180 degrees for conventional oven. I find my oven always takes longer than that. Addition of potatoes may also contribute to that matter.

Leave a Reply

